Home » U.S. Delegation Joins 20th AGOA Forum
Featured Global News News Tech Technology USA

U.S. Delegation Joins 20th AGOA Forum

A senior U.S. Government delegation is traveling to South Africa to participate in the 20th African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA) Forum in Johannesburg, November 2-4. AGOA is a cornerstone of the U.S. trade relationship with Africa. At this Forum, the United States looks forward to constructive dialogue with African partners in government, the private sector, trade unions, and civil society about AGOA’s strategic value and impact. Timely reauthorization and modernization of AGOA is a priority of the Biden-Harris Administration.

The interagency delegation will be led by U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) Ambassador Katherine Tai accompanied by Assistant USTR for African Affairs Constance Hamilton. The delegation will also include Deputy Secretary of Commerce Don Graves and Commerce Deputy Assistant Secretary for the Middle East and Africa Thomas Bruns; U.S. Export-Import Bank (EXIM) President and Chair of the Board of Directors Reta Jo Lewis; U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Foreign Agricultural Service Administrator Daniel Whitley; United States Agency for International Development (USAID) Assistant Administrator for Africa Monde Muyangwa and Prosper Africa Coordinator British Robinson; Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Treasury for Africa and the Middle East Eric Meyer; and National Security Council (NSC) Senior Director for African Affairs Judd Devermont.

The Department of State will be represented by Assistant Secretary of State for the Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs (EB) Ramin Toloui and EB Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Trade Policy and Negotiations Tony Fernandes; Chief Economist Dr. Emily Blanchard; Special Representative for International Labor Affairs Kelly Fay Rodríguez; Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for the Bureau of African Affairs Joy Basu; and Bureau of Global Health Security and Diplomacy Senior Advisor Ambassador Jimmy Kolker.

Source : State Gov